Friday, March 06, 2009

The 2009 International Media Council Awards

The Next Century Foundation openly invites nominations to be submitted for the 2009 International Media Awards on the 11th May.

The International Media Council Awards of the Next Century Foundation (NCF) have been presented at a ceremony every year since 2005 to honour editors and journalists. The awards are launched by the International Media Council, a body set up by the NFC, an NGO which works in support of peace initiatives in the Middle East. The awards are in recognition of the vital role that the media can play in contributing to understanding, without which no peace process is possible. The NCF intends to honour editors and journalists in this way annually.

From now until May, the NCF invites people to discuss award categories and potential nominees. If you are not in the UK we really need your recommendations as to potential award winners. The spread of nominations we get may influence the categories we finally choose for the awards.

We have made one decision which is to introduce a special additional category in this year's awards for Middle East bloggers. This new category is just one of a range of prizes and awards for journalists and editors from the Arab World, Israel and the UK who constantly contribute and produce consistently balanced reporting and understanding on the Middle East. The awards and prize winners in last years awards included:

The Peace Through Media Award: -

  • Yehuda Litani, Editor, Al Usbua, Channel 2 and Columnist, Yedioth Aharanoth and Haaretz, In recognition of his tireless work for rapprochement and peace. Prize presented by Ian Black, Middle East Editor, The Guardian.

  • Roula Khalaf, The Financial Times. In recognition of her high standards of reporting and the quality of her news analysis. Prize presented by Ms Annie Henshaw, Director of Olives et al.

Lifetime Achievement Award: - a special honorary award for lifetime achievement nominated and chosen by the Patrons. The winners have included:

  • Bernard Josephs, Political Editor, the Jewish Chronicle. In recognition of his efforts to improve understanding of the Middle East as well as his work against disinformation and incitement to hatred. Prize presented by Rabbi Herschel Gluck.

Special Award for an outstanding contribution to broadcasting: - for outstanding contribution to better understanding both in and towards the Middle East. The winners have included:

  • Damien Charton, France 24, for reporting during fighting in Gaza in 2007. Prize presented by William Morris, Secretary General The Next Century Foundation.

  • Zeina Fayadh, Program editor and Presenter, ANB Satellite Television. Prize presented by Mrs Ibtisam Auchi
The Cutting Edge award: - awarded to young or upcoming journalists who have also made an outstanding contribution to better understanding both in and towards the Middle East. The winners have included:

  • Adel Darwish, columnist, Daily Mail; TV commentator. Prize presented by Louisa Brooke, BBC

  • Robert Tait, Iran Correspondent, The Observer. Prize presented by David Gardner, Financial Times.

  • Mina al Oraibi, Sharq al Awsat. Prize presented Mrs Ibtisam Auchi.
Breakaway Award: -

  • Sharif Hikmat Nashashibi, Arab Media Watch, Prize presented by Jihad Al Khazan Editor at large of Al Hayatt Newspaper.

  • Wijdan Mahdi Ali Alsalih, columnist in Friendship magazine; freelance journalist based in Basrah. Prize presented by William Morris, Next Century Foundation
Two Awards were not presented last year but postponed until 2009. The winners were prevented from leaving the war zones on which they report:

  • Mr Sami Abdul Shafi, Gaza Correspondent, The Independent and The Guardian.

  • Saif Al-Khayat, Correspondent, Elaph, Baghdad.

The award ceremonies are regularly hosted by the patrons Lord Stone of Blackheath and Ms Dalia Salaam Rishani and Mr Ribal al Assad. The ceremony is also attended by senior figures from the Arab, Israeli and British media as well as diplomats. The venue is yet to be confirmed

Nominations can be e-mailed to or mailed to
UK: 4 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2LX.

USA: 190 Longhill Street, City of Springfield, MA 01108

Alternatively send to any of the following:
Middle East Peace Process:
Media Working Group:

No comments: